Detailed designs complete

Artist's impression of interior space

The project team has recently completed more than 400 hours of consultation with project user groups (PUGs) to finalise the detailed designs for all areas of the new development.
This approach is based on an evidence-based framework supported by the Australian Health Facility Guidelines and experienced Health Architects.
Members of PUGs are selected to ensure a broad representation of stakeholders from within the service and are made up of hospital staff and clinicians.

They are consulted routinely throughout all stages of the design (concept, schematic, detailed) and their feedback ensures the spaces we build are purpose-built to meet the healthcare needs of patients, staff and the broader community.
The list of lead representatives for each of the PUGs is below – these staff are also a great source of information if you want to know more about the new spaces you’ll be working in.
  • Acute Imaging – Darrin Gray and Sandy Brown
  • Acute Medical Unit (currently known as Medical Acute Care Unit) – Ruth Thompson
  • Cardiac Close Observation Unit – Nicholas Collins and Kylie Winchester
  • Central Sterilising Department – Sue Ison and Megan Ransom
  • Emergency – Joseph Pierchorowicz and Julie Richards
  • Endoscopy – Nadine Pilley
  • Executive Suite - Julie Tait
  • Formula Service – Denise Wong See
  • Intensive Care Unit – Jorge Brieva and Cynthia Bierl
  • Interventional Labs – Nicholas Collins, Ferdi Miteff, Kumar Senthil, Christian Abel
  • Interventional Suites (currently known as Day Of Surgery Admissions and Operating Theatres) – Sue Johnston, Julie Gonano, Jessica Johnston and Graham Cutler
  • Mortuary – Michael Hadlow
  • Neonatal Intensive Care Unit – Natalie Butchard and Larissa Korostenski
  • Paediatric Intensive Care Unit – Corrine Balit
  • Pharmacy – Paula Doherty and Tracey Meares
  • Recovery/Cardiac – Karissa Freestone and Kareena Nyman
  • Women’s Services (Birthing, Emergency, Maternity and Gynaecology Services, Antenatal, Postnatal) Nicole Bennett, Jane Crosbie and Jennifer Haxton